Our Sites
PDF Print E-mail

...................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

 
Cental-Deborah-Gold-Mine-LogoCentral-Deborah-Gold-Mine-2No one knows exactly the number of mine shafts sunk in the Bendigo Goldfields, although current estimates are around 6,000. However, it is known that the official records do not list many of the mines that managed to operate “under the radar”, so this figure could be even higher.

Bendigo’s goldfields—the seventh richest in history—closed in 1954, primarily due to the then fixed price of gold, rather than the exhaustion of the field. The Central Deborah Gold Mine, established in 1939, was the second last to close, succeeded by a matter of days by the “North Deborah” mine.

The Central Deborah Gold Mine site remained intact after it closed, and was re-opened as a tourist mine offering tours of the surface of the mine by The Bendigo Trust in 1970. Sixteen years later, in 1986, Central Deborah Gold Mine began running its famous underground mine tours.

After years of restoration and interpretation work, the heritage listed Central Deborah Gold Mine is now Australia’s premier underground tourist mine experience. It tells the story of Australia’s richest Goldfield, focusing on the years 1939-1954 when the Central Deborah Gold Mine site was last and most extensively worked.

For more information about Central Deborah Gold Mine click here to visit the website.

back to top

...................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

 
Bendigo Tramways LogoBendigo-TramwaysBendigo’s first tramways opened in 1890, with regular electric tram services commencing in 1903. In 1971, the tramways system came under threat of closure. With public opinion running high, a small study group was set up by The Bendigo Trust to examine the possibilities of retaining the trams as a tourist attraction.

The project was an ideal companion to The Bendigo Trust’s other attraction, Central Deborah Gold Mine, with tram access directly to the site.

The Bendigo Trust was successful in its venture, when, in September 1972, the Victorian Cabinet of the day announced it had approved a two year trial of the tourist tramways The Bendigo Trust had recommended.

The Bendigo Vintage ‘Talking’ Tram service commenced in December 1972 and remains in operation today. The current track runs from the Central Deborah Gold Mine through Pall Mall in the city’s centre, to Lake Weeroona and the Chinese Joss House on the north side of the city.

No other city which closed its tramways, left track, trams and a depot behind in the manner that Bendigo did, so while there are several worthwhile tram museums in Australia, none are able to engage with their city in the way that Bendigo’s trams do.

The Bendigo Tram Depot is now the oldest operating depot in Australia, and each tram tour includes a stop at the heritage listed depot to explore history dating back to 1903.

The original fleet of 23 trams is being carefully restored in our depot by the Bendigo Heritage Rail Workshop, which has enabled major restoration works not only for Bendigo’s fleet but for other depots and museums around Australia and oversease.

For more information about Bendigo Tramways click here to visit the website.

back to top 

...................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

 
Bendigo-Joss-House-Temple-Logo-2016Bendigo-Joss-House-TempleFrom when gold was first discovered in 1851 to the present day, the Chinese community has been a part of the proud history of Bendigo.

At the Bendigo Joss House you can discover more about the Chinese migrants who came to Bendigo in search of gold so long ago.

The Bendigo Joss House, a Chinese place of worship, was constructed in the late 1860s. Standing for over a century, the Bendigo Joss House is one of the few remaining buildings of its type in Australia . It comprises a caretaker's residence, temple and ancestral hall.

The main temple is dedicated to Guan-Di, the god of war and prosperity. The Chinese saw Guan-Di as a wise judge, guide, protector and provider of wealth and prosperity.

Constructed with locally hand made bricks and painted red, symbolising the traditional Chinese colour denoting strength and vitality, the Bendigo Joss House is an important part of Bendigo 's cultural history.

Open everyday except Christmas from 11:00am - 3:00pm or by prior arrangement.

Finn Street, North Bendigo VIC 3550
Phone: (03) 5442 1685
For more information about the Bendigo Joss House visit the website.

back to top

...................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
GasworksBendigo Gasworks

Established in 1859, the Bendigo Gasworks were closed in 1973 when natural gas arrived in town, ending coal-gas operations.

Uniquely, the plant is maintained in working order, awaiting the day when the site is developed to allow visitors to explore coal gasification and the provision of power and light in the early industrial age.

back to top

...................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Victoria Hill

Victoria Hill is the site of some of the earliest gold workings in Bendigo, dating from the 1850’s. In its day it was the site of the deepest mine in Australia.

Today, the large and beautiful site is maintained and open for visitors to explore. Expertly guided tours can also be arranged upon request.

Publications detailing the history of Victoria Hill and areas of significance can be purchased at the Central Deborah Gold Mine gift shop.

Tours for large groups can be arranged by calling our friendly Bookings Officer on (03) 5443 8255.

back to top