Our People

Bendigo Heritage Attractions has 70 employees and 60 volunteers working across all sites and offices.

While we are very proud of the heritage sites that we preserve,they would not be here today without the people who fought to keep them and those who have worked to maintain and present them to the public over the past 40 years.

We have a volunteer Board of Directors who generously give of their time to help steer the organisation into the future.

Board of Directors:

Scott Elkington, Chairman

Scott Elkington, Chairman

Scott teams a sharp business brain with an understanding of what motivates people.

That marked him as a leader capable of driving change over a 30-year career with Bendigo Bank. Scott joined the bank in 1984, quickly rising through the ranks with a reputation for driving business results through focussing on customer outcomes. He led the bank’s biggest team, the Victorian network, before pioneering Bendigo’s community focus in its new Queensland market. When Bendigo launched its crown jewel, Community Bank, Scott was charged with growing the network. His ease with community leaders resulted in a pipeline that ultimately swelled to more than 300 branches across Australia.

Now running his own business, BCMC Safety Solutions, Scott gets to spend more time with his family while maintaining board positions on community organisations.

Michael McGowan, Deputy Chair

Michael McGowan, Deputy Chair

Michael has had a long association with The Bendigo Trust as a volunteer, principally through his involvement with the Bendigo Tramways since 1972.

In 2006, he retired from teaching in Swan Hill after 32 years of service with the Department of Education.

Michael has been a member of the board since 2007.

Mark Andrew

Mark Andrew

Mark has 16 years’ experience in the mining industry, in operations in Australia and overseas. His experience includes mining engineering, operational and project management roles. Mark is currently the Mine Operations Superintendent for the Fosterville Gold Mine.

Mark is a member of the Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy, and holds Mine Manager’s Certificate and a Master of Mining Engineering.

Mark is passionate about the community in Bendigo, residing locally with his wife and young family.

Mark has been a member of the board since 2019.

Craig Lapsley PSM

Craig Lapsley PSM

Craig Lapsley is one of the most experienced and capable leaders in the Australian Emergency Management sector. He was Victoria’s first Emergency Management Commissioner and the sole Fire Services Commissioner. Prior to being appointed as Commissioner, Craig held several senior executive and operational positions within Victoria’s Fire and Emergency Management agencies.

Craig commenced his career with CFA in Bendigo and was appointed to senior operational positions in the New South Wales Fire Brigade and senior consultant to the National Fire Authority Fiji. He has developed and maintained very strong working relationship across the Emergency Management sectors with agencies in the United States and Canada. Craig has strong skills in strategic and operational leadership, community connection and resilience, innovation and technology and change management.

Craig has been a member of the board since 2019.

Cr. Andrea  Metcalf, Council Nominee

Cr. Andrea Metcalf, Council Nominee

Cr. Andrea Metcalf is a second term councillor with the City of Greater Bendigo.

It is through her role as a Councillor that she has been appointed to the BHA Board, an opportunity she jumped at.

Andrea sits on the Audit and Risk and the Finance Committee at Council among many. The skills she has learnt at Council are invaluable in her role on the BHA Board.

In her previous working life Andrea undertook a variety of leadership roles within public service in Bendigo.

Craig Niemann, Council Nominee

Craig Niemann, Council Nominee

Craig joined the City of Greater Bendigo in October 2005. He has more than 35 years experience working in the local government sector including roles at the Borough of Eaglehawk and the Shire of East Loddon. Prior to joining the City, Craig was Shire of Loddon CEO from 1997 to 2005. He has been the CEO of the City of Greater Bendigo since 2007.

Craig's history also includes serving on the board of North Central Regional Goldfields Library for 10 years and board member of the Inglewood and District Health Service for more than 10 years.

Craig is a Board Member of Regional Development Australia – Loddon Mallee Region and a member of the Loddon Campaspe Regional Partnership.

Craig has been a member of the board since 2011.

James Reade - CEO

James Reade - CEO

A born and bred Bendigoian, James Reade, is passionate about Bendigo and his local community. James is a familiar face to Bendigo Heritage Attractions as he previously sat on our board during his four-year term as a City of Greater Bendigo Councillor.

James is a strategic thinker with more than 15 years’ experience in the community development, Local Government, State Government and private sectors.

James is driven by supporting others and driving change that creates communities where all people can belong, contribute and be valued.

Most recently, James has been working as part of the management team with Spotless at the Bendigo Hospital Project.

James joined our team as CEO in 2020.

Tom Smith

Tom Smith has a long and successful history in the tourism sector. He is one of the founders of the highly successful Great Ocean Road Marketing program; co-creator of the Great Southern Touring Route and founding General Manager of the Melbourne Aquarium.

His former board and strategic roles include Chairman of the Country Victorian Tourism Council; founding Chairman of Destination Melbourne; Board Director of Tourism Victoria for 12years; led the restructure of Regional Tourism along with the introduction of Regional Tourism Boards across Victoria; and formerly a Regional Tourism Advisor.

Tom was recognised for his contributions to Victorian Tourism in 2003 when he was named Tourism Achiever of the Year at the Victorian Tourism Awards. He was awarded a Centenary Medal by the Federal Government in 2000 for his contribution to regional tourism and his focus on nurturing young tourism professionals.

Now living in Bendigo, Tom is keen to bring his tourism and destination marketing experience to the Board.

Adam Webb

Adam has over 20 years experience within financial services, holding executive positions in wealth management and financial advice.

Since 2015 Adam has been involved in leading and managing transformational change programs that have included regulatory reform, refreshed customer value propositions along with shaping and influencing global best in class employee engagement initiatives.

Adam holds a Bachelor of Business from Swinburne University of Technology with a major in Public Relations, Advanced Diploma in Financial Services, is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and has completed studies in digital transformation through Copenhagen Business School.


Deanne Pointon

Deanne Pointon

Chief Financial Officer
Faye Gair

Faye Gair

Human Resources and Governance Manager
Luke Treble

Luke Treble

Infrastructure and Compliance Manager
Luke Jenkins

Luke Jenkins

Bendigo Tramways
Workshop Manager